On a Roll!!! And So, So Thankful

On a Roll!!! And So, So Thankful

Not my photo, BUT… I scored the last $6 sushi Monday roll tonight.

I braved cold rain and slight weather-related sniffles and the dark, dark night, to stop at the store, and now I have some teas to choose from, some soups, etc. All the goodness. AND I just had some delicious spicy tuna sushi.

Grocery store trips can spook my anxiety, so I feel really good when I pull one off seamlessly. I nearly bought hair color, but that can wait til payday. Besides, they didn’t have box toner, and my hair goes wacky on just bleach alone.

My mood was definitely low post-work today, for reasons… but I’m proud of my albeit humble accomplishment. And I don’t have to be in tomorrow until the afternoon. So I can stay up a LITTLE bit yet, and sleep in, some.

Yesterday, my mom treated me to breakfast for lunch, while she had a chicken strips dinner. I had banana nut brioche French toast, with two eggs over medium and some sausage links. Pic for tax.

Lest I sound TOO spoiled (but perhaps I am, a little, as an only child), I am keeping her stocked with fancy Bath & Body Works foaming hand soaps. I think the one I gave her yesterday was Jade Oasis, or something. I stocked up when they were like $3.

I said hello to one of the women seated on the opposite side of the aisle from us, as she and her mother, I believe, were leaving. She must’ve really needed someone to talk to, because she shared pretty intense details about her daughter’s recent medical issues, and all her concern. And they were driving back and forth to Michigan in the snow (which blissfully has since all melted again, in the rain).

The older woman, the one I thought was mom/grandma, asked us for prayers as she walked past our table, quietly, so her daughter (?) couldn’t hear.

She’s not the only one to tell me about serious health concerns recently, though I won’t name names, since the other ones weren’t strangers.

Wishing you all, and all of them, wellness and recovery.

I’m thankful for my medical and psych team, and the excellent care I’m receiving for all my concerns. I have some follow-up calls to make on my next day off to schedule appointments, but we’ll get it done.

If you can, light a candle, say a prayer, offer up some love, or reach out to someone you know you may be in need of extra support right now. Everything makes a difference.

Leave a comment

All the Bright and Sparkly Things

A gratitude blog to boost positivity

Categories:

Archives: